Main Sponsor: Official Partners:

World Number Two, Nicky Souter (AUS), to Lysekil Women’s Match 1-6 August

World Number Two, Nicky Souter (AUS), to Lysekil Women’s Match 1-6 August

World Number Two, Nicky Souter (AUS), to Lysekil Women’s Match 1-6 August

With women’s match racing as a new discipline at the 2012 Olympic Games in London, the regattas in Lysekil, Sweden are hotter than ever. The first week of August, nine of the world’s elite women match racers will battle for 33 000 Euro prize money at the sixth edition of the Grade 1 competition Lysekil Women’s Match. The event is the world’s biggest competition in women’s match racing, considering the large number of spectators, media and prize money.

Lysekil, Sweden, July 25, 2011

Reigning world number two, Australian Nicky Souter, is one of the nine strong field of female skippers to compete at Lysekil Women’s Match 2011. Furthermore on the start list there are teams from Sweden, Denmark, France, Italy and USA. In 2009 this Grade 1 competition held the ISAF women’s match racing World Championships and Souter took gold.

– I remember how exciting it was sailing around the rocks with all the spectators. It’s really encouraging and motivates you to win! It was such a great feeling in 2009 sailing around seeing yourself on the big screen TV on the rocks, hearing what you’re saying to the crew and the crowd cheering. Such a great atmosphere! recalled Nicky Souter, who is looking forward to defending her title at Lysekil Women’s Match.

Two Swedish teams are defending the local flag. Linda Rahm and her team have a long experience in match racing, and has earlier been ranked world number two. With two precious civtories in Lysekil she knows the local waters well an dis a contender to watch out for. Caroline Sylvan is a young and motivated newcomer on the Swedish match racing scenen and is expected to surprise the established elite.

Nine skippers to Lysekil Women’s Match 2011:

Nicole Souter AUS

Camilla Ulrikkeholm DEN

Trine Julie Abrahamsen DEN

Silvia Roca Mata ESP

Anne-Claire Le Berre FRA

Cristiana Monina ITA

Linda Rahm SWE

Caroline Sylvan SWE

Stephanie Roble USA


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *