Challenging practise sailing in Lysekil – crews and boats now ready for racing

The crews in Lysekil Women’s Match were offered challenging sailing conditions and brand new Fareast 28R boats, as they today got a couple of hours practise on the waters of off Släggö Island in Lysekil, Sweden:
“It was super fun, but at the same time very challenging and difficult. At the beginning we hardly knew how it was going to work, nor exactly who was going to do what onboard, as we’re not at all used to these new boats, says local hope Anna Östling, not only reigning champion of both Lysekil Women’s Match and WIM Series, but also World Sailing #1.

The spectators on the rocks by the water saw gennakers with hourglasses, a crewmember sliding overboard and some other mistakes, but also a lot of really good manoeuvres and exciting sailing executed in the most perfect way:
“There are a lot of things that can go wrong when you’re not used to the boat, but our strength is that we can cooperate and quickly find solutions. It’s all about making mistakes and quickly learn from them” Östling analyses.

Tomorrow Tuesday the competition will kick off in Lysekil Women’s Match, with the first matches of the round-robin. The first four will advance directly to the quarters, while the remaining seven crews will have to sail a repechage round-robin in order to determine the following four quarter finalists. If the organizers, Sailnet and Lysekil’s Yacht Club Gullmar, will continue to have good winds throughout the week, the quarters are supposed to be raced Friday, while semis and final will be sailed Saturday. Consequently Tuesday to Thursday will see the round-robin and the repechage stage:
“Our goal is to let all the participants do as much racing as possible, and with this format we’ll achieve that” says Anna Holmdahl White, initiator and project manager of Lysekil Women’s Match.

Skippers in Lysekil Women’s Match 2017 (name, nationality, World Sailing ranking July 12):
Anna Östling, SWE, 1
Renée Groeneveld, NED, 2
Caroline Sylvan, SWE, 4
Marinella Laaksonen, FIN, 6
Pauline Courtois, FRA, 7
Trine Palludan, DEN, 8
Antonia Degerlund, FIN, 12
Alexa Bezel, SUI, 17
Johanna Bergqvist, SWE, 18
Linnea Floser, SWE, 22
Octavia Owen, GBR, 26

Share your thoughts